Inspiration to Inspire: Starting the Fire

Good evening readers.
I’d like to inspire YOU to get out and experience the richness of life, go on an adventure and feel what it is to be alive. I’d like this blog to inspire ME to get out and do things that inspire others. Most of our daily lives are so far removed from the activities we evolved doing and the last few months I’ve felt an innate desire to get more in touch with the physical world. Here’s a short catch up.

Stimulation Underload

Lately I’ve developed a severe aversion to spending time in my house (not related to my amazing family who also inhabit my home). There is something within me that is reacting to the still, pressurised, hot bubble of air trapped between walls and floors, carpet and ceiling. Cracking the door just an inch is like breaking the seal on a vacuum, through which life breathes past me again. I’m beginning to feel like my animal body is starting to miss the infinity of the outdoors every time I step inside.
I’ve heard it said that at any one time, of all the thousands of stimuli and detail that overwhelm us, the human brain can only process 7 distinct pieces of data. Of course this is amazing, and even more surprising to me at least, is the environment that unsettles me the most is the underwhelming homogenity and constance I find inside my own house.
There are two stimuli or lack of stimuli that really bother me. The first is aural. When I’m inside there is a horrible pressure, a hot resonance, I feel on my ears, and all over my body – it is like being inside an aeroplane cabin at 10,000ft. Hand in hand with this goes the incessant hum of the fridge – a constant whir made up of a handful of frequencies related to the revolution of it’s compressor.
The second unnerving lack of stimuli is the dead stillness of the air on the tiny hairs atop my arms, chest and everywhere not covered by clothing. This pressure is relieved the second I open a window or door, as the distant sounds of wind, cars and insects hit my ears and provide the auditory signals to my brain that I am back in the elements again. This crack in the box provides the slightest of breeze that reawakens my skin and hair.
If you take the time to listen and feel the world around you while outside, you will notice, in an instant, that external stimuli is cut out everytime you close door behind you. In that second you become aware of the instant lack of spacial depth.
Ultimately I’d love this post to inspire you to go and sit outside for 10 minutes (preferably at night when it’s cool and the background noise of life has quietened enough for you to hear sounds thousands of feet away) and notice how you feel. If I haven’t convinced you to leave the computer for you could at least try listening to the below audio track with some headphones to get a virtual idea of what I am getting at here. (Make sure you wear them the right way around  – left on left, right on right).
Wearing Closed Back or In Ear headphones gives the same blocked up feeling I’m trying to describe. Long ago I discovered a love for audio recordings designed to capture the subtle auditory clues that signal to your brain that you are in a 3D space. Try the audio below and hear how when you start the recording the headphones you are wearing suddenly become transparent and permeable to the virtual world in the recording.





Leave a Reply

