Look What I Found

I got up and left early one day last week as I had a busy morning at work. It was a rainy day and I was happy I’d changed my wiper blades the night before as the old ones were not up to the task anymore. I took my usual shortcut along Commissioners Flat Road, near Peachester, where I saw a bird in the middle of the road. As I got closer it didn’t fly away so I pulled over. I approached as gently as possible thinking that at any minute he would see me and fly away. He just sat there with his eyes closed however and didn’t even struggle as I picked him up and moved him off the road.

20150402_060858

The little guy didn’t seem to mind me picking him up at all, just ruffled his feathers and settled down in the position I’d sat him down in. I watched for 5 minutes before deciding there must be something wrong if he hadn’t flown away by now. I called the Wildlife Hospital at Australia Zoo which was on my way to work and they said to bring him in.

I dropped him off, filled in some paper work and continued on my way to work. Of course I’d used up whatever time I’d gained myself by getting up early and had to run around madly making sure our Grandparents Day service was ready to go on time but that’s the way life goes. I called the hospital that afternoon to see how the little guy was doing and they said he had some soft tissue damage but no fractures, likely hit by a car, and would make a full recovery. After a few days observation the Kookaburra was ready for release however, unfortunately for me, I was off enjoying my Easter camping trip in Forster, so I was unable to help release him.

The Australia Zoo Wildlife Hospital seemed incredibly well set up and the staff were friendly and obviously cared about helping our native wildlife no matter how big or small. They have helped over 57,000 animals in just over 10 years. Here’s a few facts pulled from their site:

• Up to 100 wildlife emergency calls are received daily
• Up to 30 different species are admitted to the hospital daily
• An average of 70 koalas come through the hospital every month
• Approximately 70% of patients are victims of car accidents or domestic pet attacks
• The cost to treat one animal ranges from $380 – $1500 and up to $5000 for one koala

I’m sure they could use a donation or if you are interested in volunteering then check out their website for details.

Leave a Reply

